Sensational success at the Science Talent Search competition | Fintona Girls' School

Sensational success at the Science Talent Search competition

1 November 2018

Students and teachers have been recognised with a multitude of awards in this year's Science Talent Search competition. Science Talent Search is an annual science competition open to all primary and secondary students in Victoria. The theme for 2018 was ‘Gamechangers and Changemakers’ and 48 projects were entered from Years 5 to 8 across six categories. This year, for the first time, a Year 6 class project in the form of an ongoing investigation was entered and won a well-deserved Minor Bursary. Forty five girls were invited to attend the STS presentation day at La Trobe University on Monday 27th of October 2018 where they collected their medals and individual bursaries totalling $1250.

A special word of congratulations to the two Year 8 research projects that have been selected by STS judges for entry into the prestigious BHP Billiton Science and Engineering 2018 Awards. This competition rewards young people who have used technological innovation to design a new invention or who have undertaken practical research projects that demonstrate innovative approaches and thorough scientific procedures. Well done and good luck to Shivangi Kakkar, Livia Tropea and Maya Martin

The dedication and consistent work of the students and Science staff were rewarded with two School awards this year. Schools with a very high standard of entries across all the sections are nominated by the STS Management for special recognition. There are 4 school awards in each of the 2 categories. The Upper Primary entries (Years 5 and 6 co-ordinated by Lara Dresser) won a Peter Craig School Award which recognises the high quality of entries submitted over the breadth of sections in the competition. Our junior entries (Years 7 and 8 co-ordinated by Christa Ackermann) won a Hugh McKnight Encouragement Award for their efforts and the high quality of the projects offered.

Thank you to the students and teachers, including the 5 volunteer teacher judges, for their tireless efforts.